Tags

, ,

Hey folks! I hope everyone’s been enjoying this wild ride in weather we’ve been having (at least over here on the East Coast). Global warming doubters, what say you? One day it’s snowing out, the next it’s downright springlike.

In other news, my unintentional life-imposed blogging hiatus is over! I’ve been a busy bee in my real life/ non-internet world, so I haven’t had much of a chance to post recently. I did, however, come across something so delicious that I just had to return to blog about it. What is it, you ask?

Belle Chèvre’s Bell & the Bees Breakfast Cheese!

This spreadable breakfast goat cheese from Belle Chèvre pairs two indulgences — creamy Belle Chèvre goat cheese and Savannah Bee Company Tupelo Honey — to create one phenomenally tasty spread. Apparently, the gourmet cheese gods agree. At the 2009 Fancy Food Show, this cheese was bestowed with the coveted Outstanding New Product award. Quite an achievement but it has the goods to back up that fancy food award!

I’d sampled the cheese a week ago at a local grocery store (anyone else use grocery store samplings as snacktime??) and was blown away by it. I’m not usually one to fall for the marketing persuasion of free samples at stores, so it was unusual that I actually decided to pick this up and put it in my grocery basket after sampling it.

This spreadable goat cheese is certainly not the healthiest thing in the world but it provides a decent (and tastier!) alternative to regular cream cheese. Although the saturated fat content is what one would expect in a cheese product, the protein per serving is higher than most traditional spreads, and that is a definite bonus.

My favorite way to use it? Atop a bagel, of course. I slathered some on half of a warm, toasted freshly baked everything bagel to go along with my eggs for breakfast this morning. So, so good. The honey flavor was prominent but not overpowering. The smooth texture of the goat cheese melded well with the subtle honey. This won’t last long in my house!

That’s not my mug guys, I swear!

Other ways I’ve used it?

- Spread a thin layer atop warm, caramelized roasted sweet potato rounds for a snack or in a salad. This melts the cheese slightly, and oh my god, guys, you must try! For a party hors d’oeuvre, you could definitely stack another sweet potato round on top and stick a toothpick in it.

- PB & Honey Goat Cheese Oatmeal.  I’m reserving judgment on this. Something was not in balance with the batch I made but maybe I overpowered it with too much PB. Reattempting incorporating this into my hot cereal soon.

I’m eager to try some of Belle Chevre’s other flavors, especially the coffee and fig.

Moving on, I wanted to share some of my tasty eats from yesterday. Breakfast started off with the usual – eggs! This time, I made an omelette and made a tasty sautéed mushroom and onion filling (they’re tucked in there, I swear!).

Corn Scone and coffee:

Sipped while on the run: Green Juice of kale, celery, spinach, cucumber, parsley and ginger. Best part? The juice store made way too much and upgraded my small for a large. Yes, please. I’m always in the mood for an extra 8 ounces of green juice.

Avocado, roasted carrots, sweet potatoes and zucchini on a heaping bed of spinach and baby kale. You can’t see the cups of greens but they’re under there! Topped with sesame oil and sriracha sauce. Yummm. I’ve been on an avocado kick.

Happy Tuesday!

xoxo,

Em.

