Tags

, ,

Fellow East Coasters,

Are you ready for Frankenstorm, when three weather systems and Halloween merge for the storm of the century?

From the Associated Press, regarding NYC:

Authorities warned that the nation’s biggest city could get hit with a surge of seawater that could swamp parts of lower Manhattan, flood subway tunnels and cripple the network of electrical and communications lines that are vital to the nation’s financial center.

Meanwhile (overheard on the streets of NYC, regarding storm prep):

Honey, we’re running low…I”ve gotta stock up on smoked salmon. 

My outdoor yoga was cancelled but good thing boot camp in the park is still on.

Gotta love nyc. I find myself trying to squeeze in a quick gym session (gym’s open til 2pm) before the most intense of the storm rolls in. Trying is the operative word here, as I’ve spent all morning lollygagging over hot coffee. I did manage to peel myself out go my home for a walk this morning to scope out the situation. What’s open? 3 cafes, 2 bagel shops and 3 delis all open within a 2 block radius of my home. Love it.

Yesterday, With Frankenstorm on the way and with me directly in Sandy’s path, I found myself gearing up for a major tour de force of nature like millions of East Coasters. I made sure that I had the essentials. Please reference the National Hurricane Center’s Guide or FEMA’s guide. The only thing worse than overestimating this storm is underestimating it. I suffered through long lines, battled crowds reeking of subdued panic, inflated prices for essentials (why were my eggs 5 bucks and my PB 7 bucks?! isn’t this illegal?) to make sure I have all that I needed.

While I’ve taken the suggested measures to prepare for such a serious storm, that doesn’t mean my Frankenstorm experience must be one of boredom and idleness. In addition to all the essentials I’ve gathered (candles, flashlight, water, first aid kit, etc.), I have a “non-emergency but essential kit,” geared for the fitness-minded. What’s in it?

  • Can opener
  • Wine opener – for the obvious, though you’d be surprised how handy this thing is in other situations
  • Dry Shampoo – no water, and thus no showering, is a possibility

  • Baby Wipes – again, the possibility of no water = recipe for some serious BO. Invest in some baby wipes; members of your household will be grateful
  • Bananas – greener, so they’ll be ripe by the time you need them
  • Avocado – again, the less ripe, the longer it’ll keep
  • Raw, unsalted mixed nuts
  • Ezekial Almond cereal 

  • cans of beans
  • coconut water
  • bottle of Chianti, bottle of Pinot Grigio 
  • GT’s Green Kombucha – it is completely irrational for me to have “stocked up” on this. I know. The heart and taste buds want what they want. If it comes down to it, I’ll down them all before they spoil…

  • Reading Material – lots of it. For me this is my latest issue of the Economist, Elle and some Faulkner (Sound and the Fury).
  • Legos – you’d be surprised how much fun a group of adults can have with legos. Seriously.

Some of the things I did yesterday in preparation:

  • Baked an Anchovy Olive Bread
  • Roasted vegetables, including sweet potatoes, carrots, zucchini (hopefully they will keep should my power and electricity stop)
  • Jotted down ideas of strength exercises / circuits to be done at home. I have these saved on my computer, so who knows what the power –> battery situation will be.

Now, I blog as I watch Nightmare on Elm Street, waiting with bated breath for Sandy. Stay inside and away from windows if you’re in the hurricane’s path. If you’re fortunate enough to not be in it’s path, be grateful!

xoxo,

Em.

