Tags

, , , ,

Good morning from New York. We are still without underground public transportation and many are still without power. My thoughts continue to go out to those who are still recovering from Sandy. I want to live vicariously through those of you whose Halloween plans haven’t been interrupted by Sandy…what are your Halloween plans? 

While my plans might have changed a bit, I’m not completely devoid of the Halloween spirit. There was some pumpkin carving done and I think I’ll be headed out to a local party tonight, so it’s not a complete wash for me. Being terrible with costumes, I will likely wear my cat “costume” from the two previous years. Costume is quoted because, well, it’s just a cat mask. And I wear black. Boom, a cat. Hah. For some reason, my creative juices die during this time of the year.

For today’s What I Ate Wednesday, I’m recapping my eats from yesterday, which I spent trying to shake my cabin fever from being holed up in my home for 24 hours. Be sure to visit Jen at Peas and Crayons to see what everyone else’s eats are like.

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

9 AM

Coffee + Chia hemp buckwheat cereal (read my previous post here if you’re curious about it) with plain nonfat Greek yogurt, skim milk, half a banana and coconut flakes

12:30 PM

2 spoonfuls of peanut butter and a handful of Ezekiel almond cereal (no photo of the cereal)

2:30 PM

Indian Food!! A few friends and I went to a nearby restaurant after walking around our hood, surveying the post-Sandy damage. The restaurant’s lunch special allowed me to choose two main dishes to accompany the naan, basmati rice, salad and yellow daal. Isn’t this a beautiful (and inexpensive – 8 bucks!) plate?

I selected the Jeera Aloo, which is cumin spiced potatoes:

…and the Bhindi Masala, okra cooked with various spices, onions and tomatoes (here’s a great recipe if you want to try it at home):

I was so famished by that point that I managed to clear my plate except for a small piece of naan I left behind.

This was particularly fragrant and delicious Indian food, and above-par in my experience. I’ll be returning!

5 PM

Coffee and a doughnut – I’d been craving donuts ever since Saturday, before Sandy came ashore, and I was finally able to satisfy my craving. I forgot to snap a photo but it pretty much looked like this…

8 PM

Half a bottle of GT’s Green Kombucha

Spinach topped with roasted zucchini, spicy sweet potato rounds and plain nonfat Greek yogurt + Hardboiled egg (no photo)

Tangy BBQ Popped chips – I ate the whole bag!

I haven’t worked out for a few days, aside from quick random at-home strength workouts. My gym’s closed and it’s been a tad too dangerous to run outside but trying not to stress too much about it. I’ll get back to it soon, and there are much more important things in my life to worry about currently.

Remember the past. Plan for the future. But live for today because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come.

xoxo,

Em.

